Poetics

an excerpt

Kafka on the Shore (Haruki Murakami)

The girl took Hoshino to a nearby love hotel, where she filled up the bathtub, quickly slipped out of her clothes, and then undressed him. She washed him carefully all over, then commenced to lick him, sliding into a totally artistic act of fellatio, doing things to him he’d never seen or heard of in his life. He couldn’t think of anything else but coming, and come he did.

“Man alive, that was fantastic. I’ve never felt l like that,” Hoshino said, languidly sinking back in the hot tub.

“That’s just the beginning,” the girl said. “Wait till you see what’s next.”

“Yeah, but man that was good.”

“How good?”

“Like there’s no past or future anymore.”

The pure present is an ungraspable advance of the past devouring the future. In truth, all sensation is already memory.”

Hoshino looked up, mouth half open, and gazed at her face. “What’s that?”

“Henri Bergson,” she replied, licking the semen from the tip of his penis. “Marne mo memelay.”

‘I’m sorry?”

“Matter and Memory. You ever read it?”

“I don’t think so,” Hoshino replied after a moment’s thought. Except for the special SDF driver’s manual he was forced to study – and the books on Shikoku history he’d just gone through at the library – he couldn’t remember reading anything except manga.

“Have you read it?”

The girl nodded. “I had to. I’m majoring in philosophy in college, and we have exams coming up.”

“You don’t say,” Hoshino said. “So this is a part-time job?”

“To help pay tuition.”

She took him over to the bed, stroked him all over with her fingertips and tongue, getting another erection out of him. A firm hard-on, a Tower of Pisa at carnival time.

“See, you’re ready to go again,” the girl remarked, slowly segueing into her next set of motions. “Any special requests? Something you’d like me to do? Mr. Sanders asked me to make sure you got everything you want.”

“I can’t think of anything special, but could you quote some more of that philosophy stuff? I don’t know why, but it might keep me from coming so quick. Otherwise I’ll lose it pretty fast.”

“Let’s see . . . . This is pretty old, but how about some Hegel?”

“Whatever.”

“I recommend Hegel. He’s sort of out of date, but definitely an oldie but goodie.”

“Sounds good to me.”

At the same time that I am the content of a relation, I am also that which does the relating.”

“Hmm . . .”

“Hegel believed that a person is not merely conscious of self and object as separate entities, but through the projection of the self via the mediation of the object is volitionally able to gain a deeper understanding of the self. All of which constitutes self-consciousness.”

“I don’t know what the heck you’re talking about.”

“Well, think of what I’m doing to you right now. For me I’m the self, and you’re the object. For you, of course, it’s the exact opposite – you’re the self to you and I’m the object. And by exchanging self and object, we can project ourselves onto the other and gain self-consciousness. Volitionally.”

“I still don’t get it, but it sure feels good.”

“That’s the whole idea,” the girl said.

Standard

3 thoughts on “an excerpt

      • i get the impression that you are in to books, that is very commendable,i will have to read Henry miller and see what I’ll make of the works.you have a resovours of rare talent, i can tell it by the way you relay your ideas.thanks for keeping me on my toes

Leave a Reply

